1. Home
  2. Project Management & Productivity
  3. Collaboration & Work Management Platforms
  4. Collaboration & Work Management Platforms for Contractors

Ranking · Collaboration & Work Management Platforms

Best Collaboration & Work Management Platforms for Contractors

10 products scored on six criteria. Workfront leads at 9.1 and the field is tight, with 0.4 points between first and last, so read the catches before you pick. Every product opens to the evidence behind its number.

10 products scored6 criteria117 sources citedUpdated Jul 12, 2026
1 Workfrontbusiness.adobe.com

Adobe Workfront pricing stays hidden behind a sales quote.

Read the reviewVisit ↗
2 Autodesk Construction Cloudconstruction.autodesk.com

Autodesk Construction Cloud views 3D models offline in the field

Read the reviewVisit ↗
3 Teamworkteamwork.com

Teamwork gives clients free access, but mobile app trails desktop

Read the reviewVisit ↗
10Products
8.7 to 9.1Score spread
4Free plan or tier
01

The ranking

Order follows the score. Six little boxes show each product's criterion scores: green or red is above or below the category average, grey means too few products share that criterion to compare. The full review sits right under each one.

Nothing matches that filter here. Tap All to see every product.

1

Workfront

business.adobe.com · Adobe Workfront · scored Dec 2025

Adobe Workfront pricing stays hidden behind a sales quote.

Best forLarge enterprises running creative and marketing work at scale

Quote only enterpriseSOC 2HIPAA ready
Top score

An enterprise work management platform natively integrated with Adobe Creative Cloud for marketing teams.

Standout factNamed a Leader in Adobe's Gartner Magic Quadrant recognition for 8 consecutive yearsbusiness.adobe.com
Biggest catchPricing is not public and requires contacting sales for a custom quote.thedigitalprojectmanager.com
8 yearsGartner Leader streakbusiness.adobe.com
150+supported file types for proofingbusiness.adobe.com

Standout number

8 yearsGartner Magic Quadrant Leader streak

Source: business.adobe.com

Compliance

✓ SOC 2 Type 2✓ ISO 27001? HIPAA ready? FedRAMP Moderate

Source: adobe.com

Upside

  • Native Adobe Creative Cloud integration
  • SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA ready
  • Advanced proofing, 150+ file types

Catch

  • Pricing not public
  • Steep learning curve
  • Interface feels cluttered
Pick it ifLarge enterprises running creative and marketing work at scale
Skip it ifSmall teams wanting a plug-and-play tool with minimal setup
PricingCustom pricing across Select, Prime, and Ultimate tiers

Editor's takeThe native Creative Cloud plugin is the real differentiator. Designers can log time, kick off approvals, and upload files directly from Photoshop or InDesign without switching tools. Workfront Fusion extends that reach with no-code automation into non-Adobe systems too. None of this comes cheap or simple though. Pricing stays behind a sales quote, and G2 reviewers consistently describe the learning curve as steep.

How much does Adobe Workfront cost?

Pricing is not publicly disclosed. Adobe offers three tiers, Select, Prime, and Ultimate, and buyers must contact sales for a custom quote, according to Adobe's own pricing page.

Does Workfront integrate with Adobe Creative Cloud?

Yes, natively. A Workfront plugin for Creative Cloud apps lets users log time, start review and approval workflows, and upload files directly from tools like Photoshop and InDesign.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.18 points)
9.5
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the breadth of work management features, including resource planning, demand management, and proofing capabilities suitable for large-scale operations.Adobe Workfront offers a comprehensive suite for enterprise work management, featuring scenario planning, resource allocation, and advanced proofing tools that support over 150 file types.business.adobe.comproject-management.com
9.7
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess analyst rankings, market leadership status, and adoption rates among enterprise-level organizations.Adobe Workfront is consistently recognized as a Leader in major analyst reports, including Forrester and Gartner, validating its status as a top-tier enterprise solution.business.adobe.combusiness.adobe.com
8.4
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We examine user feedback regarding ease of use, interface design, and the learning curve required for adoption.While powerful, the platform is frequently cited for its steep learning curve and complex interface, which can be overwhelming for new users.experienceleague.adobe.comg2.comthedigitalprojectmanager.com
8.7
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We analyze pricing transparency, structure, and the perceived value relative to the cost for enterprise buyers.Pricing is not publicly listed and is quote-based, with three main tiers (Select, Prime, Ultimate) tailored for large enterprises.business.adobe.combusiness.adobe.comthedigitalprojectmanager.com
9.6
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We look for native connectivity with essential business tools, particularly within the creative and marketing technology landscape.Workfront offers best-in-class integration with Adobe Creative Cloud and connects to disparate systems via its robust Workfront Fusion automation platform.business.adobe.comexperienceleague.adobe.comgartner.com
9.8
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We verify the presence of enterprise-grade security certifications, data encryption standards, and regulatory compliance.The platform maintains rigorous security standards including SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, and HIPAA readiness, meeting strict enterprise requirements.adobe.comadobe.com

Score adjustments−0.18 points in total

−0.08Users consistently report a steep learning curve and a complex, cluttered interface that makes adoption difficult for new users.g2.com · severity 75/100
−0.04Pricing is opaque with no public costs listed; third-party analysis indicates it is significantly more expensive than competitors.thedigitalprojectmanager.com · severity 50/100
−0.06Some users experience slow performance and lag when managing large projects or complex data sets.thedigitalprojectmanager.com · severity 45/100
2

Autodesk Construction Cloud

construction.autodesk.com · Autodesk Construction Collaboration · scored Dec 2025

Autodesk Construction Cloud views 3D models offline in the field

Best forGeneral contractors managing large commercial projects with BIM workflows.

Quote only FedRAMPBIMoffline mode
−0.1 vs #1

Construction management platform connecting field and office teams with FedRAMP-authorized security.

Standout factThe platform is trusted by builders on more than 2 million projects globally.construction.autodesk.eu
Biggest catchSheet-count pricing counts every sheet a user can access across all projects, even inactive ones.help.autodesk.com
2M+Projects using the platformconstruction.autodesk.eu
400+Integrationsautodesk.com

Standout number

400+pre-built integrations

Source: autodesk.com

Compliance

✓ FedRAMP Moderate✓ ISO 27017✓ ISO 27018? SOC 2

Source: construction.autodesk.com

Upside

  • FedRAMP Moderate authorized security
  • Offline 3D model viewing on mobile
  • 400+ pre-built integrations

Catch

  • Slow mobile sync on large projects
  • Sheet limits count inactive projects too
  • Android and iOS feature gaps
Pick it ifGeneral contractors managing large commercial projects with BIM workflows.
Skip it ifSmall residential contractors who do not use BIM or 3D models.
PricingContact for pricing, tiers set by sheet count (550, 5000, unlimited)

Editor's takeAutodesk Construction Cloud lets field teams view 2D and 3D models offline, then syncs changes once connectivity returns. Its FedRAMP Moderate authorization is rare in construction software and opens government contract doors. Pricing tiers count sheets across every project a user has ever joined, which can force surprise upgrades.

Can Autodesk Construction Cloud be used on government projects?

Yes. It holds FedRAMP Moderate Authorization, along with ISO 27017 and 27018 cloud security and privacy certifications, making it suitable for federal and public sector work.

How is Autodesk Construction Cloud priced?

Pricing is tiered by sheet count: Build 550, Build 5000, and Build Unlimited. Sheet totals count every project a user has access to, not just active ones.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.17 points)
9.1
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the breadth of field collaboration tools, including 2D/3D model viewing, issue tracking, and workflow automation capabilities.The platform unifies field and office workflows with robust mobile capabilities, allowing users to view 3D models offline, track assets, and manage RFIs, though some workflow configurations remain rigid.construction.autodesk.comconstruction.autodesk.comconstruction.autodesk.com
9.6
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess industry adoption, third-party security validations, and government authorizations that signal enterprise-grade reliability.Autodesk Construction Cloud holds top-tier security credentials including FedRAMP Moderate authorization and ISO 27001/27017/27018 certifications, validating its suitability for high-security government and enterprise projects.adsknews.autodesk.comconstruction.autodesk.eu
8.7
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We examine mobile app performance, offline functionality, and feature parity across different devices.While the mobile app offers powerful offline access, users report significant sync delays with large projects and notable feature disparities between Android and iOS versions.construction.autodesk.comgraitec.comforums.autodesk.com
8.5
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We analyze pricing structures, transparency of costs, and the logic behind usage limits.Pricing is transparently tiered by sheet count (550, 5000, Unlimited), but the counting logic aggregates sheets across all projects a user accesses, potentially forcing upgrades even for minor contributors.construction.autodesk.comhelp.autodesk.comhelp.autodesk.com
9.3
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We evaluate the availability of third-party connections, API robustness, and ecosystem maturity.The ecosystem is massive, featuring over 400 direct integrations and a dedicated iPaaS solution (ACC Connect) for custom no-code workflows.construction.autodesk.comautodesk.comconstruction.autodesk.com
9.8
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We investigate specific cloud security standards, encryption protocols, and compliance certifications relevant to construction data.The platform demonstrates industry-leading security with ISO 27017 (Cloud Security) and ISO 27018 (Cloud Privacy) certifications, alongside SOC 2 Type II attestation.construction.autodesk.comsymetri.ie

Score adjustments−0.17 points in total

−0.06Mobile app sync performance is significantly degraded by large data sets, with documented reports of long sync times when downloading projects with many photos.autodesk.com · severity 60/100
−0.07Submittal workflows are rigid; managers cannot assign 'Roles' or 'Companies' as reviewers, only individual members, creating maintenance overhead when staff changes.youtube.com · severity 55/100
−0.04Sheet limits are calculated based on the total number of sheets a user has access to across all projects (even inactive ones), which can force users into higher pricing tiers unintentionally.forums.autodesk.com · severity 50/100
3

Teamwork

teamwork.com · Teamwork for Contractors · scored Dec 2025

Teamwork gives clients free access, but mobile app trails desktop

Best forClient-facing service businesses needing built-in time tracking and invoicing.

Free tier From $11 per user/mo free planSOC 2ISO 27001
−0.2 vs #1

Teamwork is a project management platform with unlimited free client users for contractors.

Standout factPaid plans include unlimited free client users that do not count toward seats.teamwork.com
Biggest catchThe mobile app lacks core functions like moving tasks between lists.play.google.com
20,000+Companies trusting Teamworkteamwork.com
5 usersFree plan limittech.co
$10.99/user/moStarting paid pricetech.co

Free vs paid

Free Forever

$0
  • Up to 5 users
  • Unlimited free client users

Deliver from

$10.99/user/mo
  • Higher user limits
  • Advanced billing tools

Source: tech.co

Compliance

✓ ISO 27001✓ SOC 2 Type 2? HIPAA

Source: teamwork.com

Upside

  • Unlimited free client users
  • Free plan for up to 5 users
  • ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2

Catch

  • Mobile app lacks desktop functions
  • Team grouping needs the Grow plan
  • Performance lags on large projects
Pick it ifClient-facing service businesses needing built-in time tracking and invoicing.
Skip it ifLarge construction firms needing heavy field tools like RFIs.
PricingFree for up to 5 users, paid from $10.99/user/mo

Editor's takeTeamwork gives clients free seats on paid plans, a real cost saver for contractors. It bundles native time tracking, billing, and retainer management, features rivals often push out to separate tools. The mobile app is the weak spot, missing basic functions like moving tasks between lists.

Does Teamwork charge for client users?

No. Paid plans include unlimited free client users who do not count toward the subscription seat count. They can be granted specific project permissions.

Does Teamwork have a free plan?

Yes. The Free Forever plan covers up to 5 users. Paid plans start around $10.99 per user a month, rising to $19.99 for the Grow tier.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.16 points)
8.9
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the breadth of project management features specifically for contractors, including task tracking, financial tools, and resource management.Teamwork offers a robust suite including task management, Gantt charts, time tracking, and billing. It supports complex hierarchies with subtasks and dependencies. Unique to its niche, it includes built-in financial tools like billable time tracking, retainers, and invoicing integrations (Xero, QuickBooks), making it highly suitable for client-facing work.teamwork.comkdnuggets.comteamwork.com
9.2
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We look for established market presence, user base size, and industry recognition to ensure long-term reliability.Teamwork is a mature platform trusted by over 20,000 companies globally. It holds significant industry certifications (ISO 27001, SOC 2) and maintains a strong presence in the agency and contractor space. User reviews on major platforms like G2 and Capterra are generally positive, validating its reliability.constructiondive.comteamwork.comteamwork.com
8.6
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We assess the ease of use, interface design, mobile accessibility, and quality of customer support.The desktop interface is powerful but can be dense, with a learning curve for new users. Customer support is highly rated for responsiveness. However, the mobile app receives consistent criticism for missing core functionality found in the web version, such as moving tasks between lists or applying filters.teamwork.complay.google.comgetapp.com
8.5
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We analyze pricing structures, free tier availability, and the cost-to-value ratio for contractors.Teamwork offers a 'Free Forever' plan for up to 5 users. Paid plans start at ~$10.99/user/mo (Deliver) and ~$19.99/user/mo (Grow). While the entry price is competitive, key features like 'Teams' (grouping users) and advanced reporting are locked behind the more expensive 'Grow' plan, which can increase costs for scaling agencies.teamwork.comtech.coteamwork.com
9.4
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We examine security standards, data residency options, and compliance certifications relevant to handling client data.Teamwork demonstrates exceptional security maturity for its category. It is ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type 2 certified. Data is hosted on AWS with servers in the US and EU. It offers 2FA, encryption in transit/rest, and automated backups, ensuring client data is protected to enterprise standards.teamwork.comteamwork.comteamwork.com
9.5
Client Collaboration & External AccessLooked for: We evaluate how the platform handles external stakeholders, specifically looking for guest access costs and permission controls.This is a standout area for Teamwork. It offers unlimited free 'Client Users' on paid plans. These users can be granted granular permissions to view or edit tasks without counting toward the subscription seat count. This model is ideal for contractors who need to collaborate with multiple clients without escalating costs.teamwork.comteamwork.comsupport.teamwork.com

Score adjustments−0.16 points in total

−0.06The mobile application is reported to be incomplete compared to the desktop version, missing basic functions like moving tasks between lists or applying filters.play.google.com · severity 60/100
−0.07Users have reported performance issues and slower run times when managing large numbers of projects or data sets.forbes.com · severity 50/100
−0.03Essential organizational features like 'Teams' (grouping users) and subteams are restricted to the more expensive 'Grow' plan, forcing upgrades for basic team management.support.teamwork.com · severity 45/100
4

Bluebeam

bluebeam.com · Bluebeam Construction Software · scored Dec 2025

SOC 2 certified, but Mac support is discontinued

Best forCommercial contractors doing digital plan reviews and design collaboration.

From $240 per year SOC 2no Mac supportProcore integration
−0.3 vs #1

PDF markup and collaboration software for construction, integrating deeply with Procore and Autodesk.

Standout factBluebeam achieved SOC 2 Type 2 compliance certification in June 2023.press.bluebeam.com
Biggest catchNative Mac support ended in June 2023, forcing Mac users onto limited web tools or virtualization software.support.bluebeam.com
$240/yrBasics plansaasworthy.com
~10%2024 price increasemicrosolresources.com

Plans

Basics$240/yr
Complete$440/yr

Source: saasworthy.com

Runs on

🌐Web
iOS
🤖Android
💻Windows
💻Mac
API

Source: support.bluebeam.com

Upside

  • Industry-standard PDF markups
  • Robust Procore and Autodesk integrations
  • SOC 2 Type 2 certified

Catch

  • Native Mac support discontinued
  • iPad app retiring December 2025
  • Subscription-only pricing model
Pick it ifCommercial contractors doing digital plan reviews and design collaboration.
Skip it ifMac users needing native desktop performance.
PricingBasics $240/yr, Core $330/yr, Complete $440/yr per user

Editor's takeBluebeam's PDF markup tools and Studio Sessions remain the construction industry benchmark, syncing with Procore and Autodesk. Three published tiers run from $240 to $440 per user annually, and SOC 2 Type 2 covers security. Native Mac support ended in 2023, and the iPad app retires in December 2025 for a weaker cloud app.

Does Bluebeam still support Mac?

No. Native Mac support for Revu ended in June 2023, so Mac users now rely on limited web tools or virtualization software like Parallels, according to Bluebeam's end-of-life announcement.

How much does Bluebeam cost?

Published plans run from $240 a year (Basics) to $440 a year (Complete) per user, following a roughly 10% price increase in June 2024, according to SaaSworthy's pricing breakdown.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.21 points)
9.4
Product Capability & Depthbluebeam.com
9.0
Market Credibility & Trust Signals
8.8
Usability & Customer Experiencebluebeam.com
8.5
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We review public pricing tiers, subscription models, and hidden costs relative to the features provided.Bluebeam uses a transparent three-tier subscription model (Basics, Core, Complete) ranging from $240 to $440/user/year, though the shift from perpetual licensing has caused some long-term user dissatisfaction.bluebeam.comsaasworthy.commicrosolresources.com
8.9
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We examine the ability to connect with major construction platforms like Procore, Autodesk, and SharePoint.Bluebeam offers robust integrations with industry heavyweights like Procore, Autodesk Construction Cloud, and SharePoint, often allowing documents to be synced or opened directly in Studio Sessions.bluebeam.comautodesk.comaecmag.com
9.2
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We verify security certifications like SOC 2, SSO availability, and data residency options.Bluebeam has achieved SOC 2 Type 2 certification and offers Single Sign-On (SSO) for Core and Complete plans, along with regional data residency options for international compliance.bluebeam.compress.bluebeam.commicrosolresources.com

Score adjustments−0.21 points in total

−0.09Native support for Mac was discontinued (EOL June 2023), forcing Mac users to rely on limited web/cloud versions or virtualization software like Parallels.support.bluebeam.com · severity 70/100
−0.09Bluebeam is retiring its highly capable 'Revu for iPad' app in Dec 2025, forcing users to the newer 'Bluebeam Cloud' app which lacks feature parity (e.g., custom tool sets, advanced measurements).community.bluebeam.com · severity 65/100
−0.03The transition from perpetual licensing to a subscription-only model has resulted in price increases for some legacy users and mandatory annual recurring costs.microsolresources.com · severity 45/100
5

RIB

rib-software.com · RIB Construction Collaboration · scored Dec 2025

RIB links Revit directly, pricing stays hidden

Best forLarge enterprise construction firms needing strict document control

Quote only BIM viewerRevit integrationSchneider Electric
−0.3 vs #1

Enterprise construction collaboration platform combining 3D BIM viewing with document management.

Standout factBecame a Schneider Electric subsidiary in 2020en.wikipedia.org
Biggest catchUsers report the application takes too much time to load.g2.com
1961Company foundeden.wikipedia.org
2020Schneider Electric acquisition yearen.wikipedia.org

Milestones

1961RIB Software founded
2020Became Schneider Electric subsidiary

Source: en.wikipedia.org

In their words

“The thing I dislike it take too much time for loading.”

g2.com

Upside

  • Integrated 2D/3D BIM viewer
  • Direct Revit integration plugin
  • Non-editable audit trails for disputes

Catch

  • Slow loading times reported
  • No free version available
  • Opaque, quote-based pricing
Pick it ifLarge enterprise construction firms needing strict document control
Skip it ifSmall residential contractors wanting a simple, quick-setup tool
PricingCustom quote, no free version, priced by module and scale

Editor's takeRIB's Revit plugin transfers drawings and models directly into the platform, skipping the manual export-then-upload cycle other tools require. Non-editable audit trails give large projects a clean record for dispute resolution, and the 2D/3D BIM viewer sits inside the same workspace as document management rather than a separate tool. Schneider Electric acquired RIB in 2020, adding financial stability to a company operating since 1961, but users consistently report slow loading times, and pricing is never published, scaled instead by chosen modules and project size.

Does RIB integrate with Revit?

Yes. A dedicated plugin transfers drawings and models directly from Revit into RIB Project, avoiding a manual export and upload process, according to RIB's own documentation.

Is RIB Construction Collaboration slow to use?

Some users report this. G2 reviews mention the application taking too much time to load, though users also praise its flexibility for adapting to specific projects.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 2 penalties (−0.08 points)
9.1
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We look for comprehensive document control, BIM integration, and workflow automation tailored for complex construction projects.The platform offers a robust suite including 2D/3D BIM viewing, tender management, and field collaboration modules that centralize project data.rib-software.comrib-software.comrib-software.com
9.4
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We look for established industry presence, backing by reputable parent companies, and adoption by large-scale enterprises.RIB Software was founded in 1961, is a subsidiary of Schneider Electric, and is used by enterprise-level construction firms globally.en.wikipedia.orgg2.com
8.7
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We look for intuitive interfaces, ease of navigation, and system performance that supports efficient daily workflows.Users appreciate the centralized data management and graphical data presentation, though some report performance issues like slow loading times.rib-software.comg2.comrib-software.com
8.1
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We look for clear public pricing, flexible tier options, and transparent terms without hidden costs.Pricing is not publicly listed and varies based on modules and project scale; no free version is available.rib-software.comrib-software.comsoftwareworld.co
8.9
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We look for seamless connections with industry-standard tools like Revit, APIs for custom data flow, and mobile accessibility.The platform features strong integration with Revit via plugins, offers an API, and connects with other RIB modules like CostX and BuildSmart.byggeweb.zendesk.comrib-software.com
9.0
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We look for enterprise-grade security features, role-based access control, and comprehensive audit trails.The system provides granular permission settings, non-editable audit trails for dispute resolution, and secure central document storage.softwareworld.corib-software.com

Score adjustments−0.08 points in total

−0.05Users have reported that the application takes 'too much time for loading', impacting efficiency.g2.com · severity 50/100
−0.03Pricing is opaque with no public tiers or free version available; costs are only revealed upon request.rib-software.com · severity 45/100
6

STACK

stackct.com · STACK Construction Software · scored Dec 2025

SOC 2 Type II is rare in this niche

Best forSubcontractors and GCs focused on cloud-based takeoff and estimating.

Free tier From $2,999 per year SOC 2takeoff and estimatingProcore integration
−0.3 vs #1

Cloud-based takeoff and estimating platform with real-time collaboration and SOC 2 security.

Standout factSTACK holds a SecurityScorecard rating of 97 out of 100.newswire.com
Biggest catchTakeoff and Estimating starts around $2,999 per user per year.softwareconnect.com
97/100SecurityScorecard ratingnewswire.com
$2,999/user/yearStarting pricesoftwareconnect.com
2011Foundednewswire.com

SecurityScorecard rating

97of 100

Starting price

$2,999/user/yearTakeoff & Estimating package, free version available

Upside

  • SOC 2 Type II compliant
  • Low learning curve, easy onboarding
  • Syncs with Procore and QuickBooks

Catch

  • High cost near $2,999/user/year
  • Renewal price hikes reported
  • Lags on large projects
Pick it ifSubcontractors and GCs focused on cloud-based takeoff and estimating.
Skip it ifField teams needing daily-log jobsite management tools.
PricingFree version available. Takeoff and Estimating from $2,999/user/year.

Editor's takeSTACK markets SOC 2 Type II compliance as a real differentiator in construction software. Users call setup easy, needing little training to start. Reddit threads describe renewal pricing jumping well above the original quote.

Is STACK secure?

Yes. STACK is SOC 2 Type II compliant, uses Auth0 for single sign-on, and scored 97 out of 100 on SecurityScorecard.

How much does STACK cost?

The Takeoff and Estimating package starts around $2,999 per user per year. A free version is also available.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.17 points)
8.9
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the software's ability to handle complex construction takeoffs, estimating accuracy, and cloud-based collaboration features.STACK offers a 100% cloud-based platform featuring auto-count, OCR, and hyperlinking to automate manual takeoff processes. It supports trade-specific assemblies, aerial image takeoffs, and seamless transition from takeoff to detailed cost estimating.stackct.comstackct.comyoutube.com
9.3
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess the company's industry standing, years in business, security certifications, and user adoption rates.Founded in 2011 (originally CloudTakeoff), STACK serves thousands of contractors and maintains a high SecurityScorecard rating (97/100). It is SOC 2 Type II compliant, a significant trust signal in the construction tech space.newswire.comnewswire.com
9.1
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We look for ease of onboarding, interface intuitiveness, and quality of customer support channels.Users consistently praise the intuitive interface and lack of a steep learning curve. Support is accessible via phone, email, and chat, with resources like webinars and one-on-one training available.youtube.comgetapp.com
8.2
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We evaluate pricing models, transparency, and cost-to-value ratio for different business sizes.Pricing is subscription-based, starting around $2,999/user/year for the Takeoff & Estimating package. While a free version exists, users report significant price hikes at renewal and high costs for smaller firms.stackct.comsoftwareconnect.comreddit.com
8.8
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We look for the breadth and depth of integrations with accounting, project management, and CRM tools.The platform integrates with major industry tools including Procore, QuickBooks (Desktop & Online), Sage, and Buildertrend. An open API is available for custom connections.stackct.comstackct.commarketplace.procore.com
9.6
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We examine data protection standards, compliance certifications (SOC 2, HIPAA), and security protocols.STACK is a leader in security for this niche, maintaining SOC 2 Type II compliance and utilizing Auth0 for single sign-on. They conduct regular third-party audits and maintain strict access controls.stackct.comstackct.com

Score adjustments−0.17 points in total

−0.04Users report significant price increases at renewal and high per-seat costs compared to some competitors.reddit.com · severity 60/100
−0.07Performance issues such as slow sheet transitions and lagging have been reported when handling large or complex projects.softwareconnect.com · severity 55/100
−0.06Some users cite limited editing tools and a lack of offline functionality for the estimating module as drawbacks.softwareconnect.com · severity 45/100
7

Basecamp

basecamp.com · Basecamp: Streamlined Project Management · scored Dec 2025

Basecamp charges $299 flat, not per user.

Best forGrowing teams wanting simple, flat-rate project collaboration.

Free tier flat-rate pricingHill Chartsno Gantt charts
−0.4 vs #1

All-in-one project management and chat tool known for flat-rate pricing and Hill Chart progress tracking.

Standout factBasecamp Pro Unlimited costs $299 a month, billed annually, for unlimited users and projects.basecamp.com
Biggest catchThere are no native Gantt charts or task dependencies, and no built-in time tracking.softwareforpm.com
$299/moFlat plan pricebasecamp.com
$15/user/moPer-user planbasecamp.com
20+Years in business3.basecamp-help.com

Starting price

$299/moPro Unlimited, unlimited users and projects, billed annually

The thing people get wrong

Basecamp includes Gantt charts and dependencies like other project tools

It intentionally omits native Gantt charts and subtask dependencies

Source: softwareforpm.com

Upside

  • Flat-rate pricing for unlimited users
  • Hill Charts for visual progress
  • Replaces Slack and Asana

Catch

  • No native Gantt charts
  • No built-in time tracking
  • No direct SOC 2 audit
Pick it ifGrowing teams wanting simple, flat-rate project collaboration.
Skip it ifTeams needing native Gantt charts, dependencies or time tracking.
PricingFree for 1 project, Pro Unlimited $299/mo flat

Editor's takeBasecamp's flat $299 monthly rate covers unlimited users and projects, a different model from per-seat competitors that gets cheaper as a team grows. Its Hill Charts give a qualitative view of progress that plain to-do lists miss. The company skips complex features like Gantt charts and dependencies on purpose, and 37signals has not completed its own SOC 2 audit, relying instead on its data centers' certifications.

How much does Basecamp cost?

Basecamp Pro Unlimited is $299 per month billed annually, covering unlimited users and projects. A per-user plan starts at $15 per user per month, and a free plan covers one project.

Does Basecamp have Gantt charts?

No. Basecamp intentionally omits native Gantt charts and task dependencies. Users who need critical path or dependency tracking typically pair Basecamp with a separate tool or choose a different platform.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.20 points)
8.7
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the breadth of project management features, including task dependencies, views, and workflow automation tailored for team collaboration.Basecamp offers a robust suite of essentials like message boards, to-dos, and schedules but intentionally omits complex features like native Gantt charts or subtask dependencies.basecamp.combasecamp.combasecamp.com
9.3
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess the vendor's longevity, user base size, and reputation within the SaaS industry.With over 20 years in business and millions of users, Basecamp is a highly established and trusted name in the project management space.3.basecamp-help.combasecamp.com
9.1
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We analyze the learning curve, interface design, and user feedback regarding ease of adoption.The platform is renowned for its intuitive, 'no-frills' interface that requires virtually no training, though some users find the lack of customization limiting.basecamp.comlarksuite.comconnecteam.com
9.0
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We examine pricing models, hidden fees, and the value proposition for teams of various sizes.Basecamp offers a unique flat-rate pricing model for unlimited users, providing exceptional value for larger teams compared to per-seat competitors.basecamp.combasecamp.combasecamp.com
8.5
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We review the availability of APIs, third-party integrations, and the breadth of the partner ecosystem.Basecamp provides a full API and key integrations like Zapier and time-tracking tools, but its ecosystem is smaller than 'platform' competitors like Slack or Jira.zapier.combasecamp.combasecamp.com
8.8
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We investigate encryption standards, compliance certifications (SOC 2, GDPR), and data handling policies.Basecamp employs strong encryption and is GDPR compliant, but the company itself has not completed a SOC 2 audit, relying instead on its data centers' certifications.basecamp.com3.basecamp-help.com37signals.com

Score adjustments−0.20 points in total

−0.09Basecamp lacks native task dependencies and Gantt charts, which limits its utility for complex, linear project management workflows.softwareforpm.com · severity 65/100
−0.05The company (37signals) has not completed a SOC 2 audit for itself, relying solely on the certifications of its data center providers.37signals.com · severity 50/100
−0.06There is no built-in time tracking functionality; users must rely on third-party integrations for this feature.bridge24.com · severity 45/100
8

Fieldwire

fieldwire.com · Fieldwire by Hilti · scored Dec 2025

Hilti paid $300 million to acquire Fieldwire.

Best forField teams needing mobile plan viewing and task management, free for small teams.

Free tier From $29 per month free planISO 27001SOC 2
−0.4 vs #1

Mobile-first jobsite management app for plan viewing and task coordination, backed by Hilti.

Standout factDeployed on over 1 million projects worldwide, with a 4.8-star App Store rating.fieldwire.com
Biggest catchThe mobile app requires manual syncing to download new projects; it doesn't happen automatically in the background.connecteam.com
$300MAcquisition pricehilti.group
1M+Projects deployed onfieldwire.com
4.8/5App Store ratingfieldwire.com

Standout number

$300MHilti acquisition price, 2021

Source: hilti.group

Free vs paid

Free Basic plan

$0
  • Up to 5 users
  • 3 projects, 100 sheets

Business Plus $89/user/mo

  • RFIs and submittals
  • Change orders, budget

Source: fieldwire.com

Upside

  • Backed by $300M Hilti acquisition
  • Free tier for small teams
  • 4.8-star mobile app rating

Catch

  • No native time tracking
  • Manual project syncing on mobile
  • API access requires Enterprise or add-on
Pick it ifField teams needing mobile plan viewing and task management, free for small teams.
Skip it ifContractors needing integrated financial tools like invoicing or payroll.
PricingFree for small teams; paid from $29/mo, up to $89/user/mo

Editor's takeFieldwire earned its credibility through Hilti's $300 million acquisition in 2021 and now runs on over 1 million construction projects worldwide. Its free tier, capped at 3 projects and 5 users, gives small crews real functionality before any payment. The tradeoff is scope: no native time tracking or payroll, and mobile syncing requires a manual pull rather than automatic background updates.

Is Fieldwire free?

Yes, a free Basic plan covers up to 5 users, 3 projects, and 100 sheets. Paid plans start at $29 a month and reach $89 per user a month for Business Plus.

Who owns Fieldwire?

Hilti Group acquired Fieldwire for approximately $300 million in 2021 to expand its construction software portfolio, adding to Fieldwire's existing credibility with major contractors.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.18 points)
8.7
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the breadth of construction management features, specifically looking for field-to-office coordination, plan viewing, and task management capabilities.Fieldwire excels in field management with robust plan viewing, versioning, and task tracking, though it lacks the deep financial and workforce management tools found in full ERP competitors.fieldwire.comconnecteam.com
9.2
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess the product's industry standing, backing, and adoption rates among major construction firms.Acquired by Hilti for $300M, Fieldwire powers over 1 million projects and is used by major contractors like Clark Construction and EllisDon.hilti.groupfieldwire.com
8.9
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We look for ease of adoption for field teams, mobile app performance, and the quality of customer support resources.Users consistently rate the mobile app highly for its intuitive interface, though some manual syncing requirements for projects can create friction.fieldwire.comhilti.com
8.5
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We examine pricing visibility, tier structures, and the accessibility of features across different price points.Pricing is fully transparent with a free tier for small teams, though advanced features like RFIs and API access require higher-tier subscriptions.fieldwire.comfieldwire.comhelp.fieldwire.com
8.8
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We assess the availability of native integrations, API access, and the ability to connect with other construction software.Native integrations exist for major cloud storage providers, but API access is restricted to higher tiers or requires sales contact.fieldwire.comassets.ctfassets.nethelp.fieldwire.com
9.2
Industry Leadership & Innovation

Score adjustments−0.18 points in total

−0.06The mobile app requires manual syncing to download new projects, which does not occur automatically in the background.connecteam.com · severity 60/100
−0.07The platform lacks native financial management tools such as time tracking, payroll, and invoicing.connecteam.com · severity 50/100
−0.05API access and Single Sign-On (SSO) are gated features that typically require an Enterprise contract or sales intervention.forbes.com · severity 45/100
9

Join

join.build · Join Preconstruction Management · scored Dec 2025

Join is used by 40% of top general contractors

Best forGeneral contractors and owners managing the preconstruction and design phase.

Quote only SOC 2Procore integrationAutodesk integration
−0.4 vs #1

Preconstruction collaboration platform for real-time cost trending between owners, architects, contractors.

Standout factTrusted by more than 40% of the ENR Top 50 General Contractors.join.build
Biggest catchPricing is not public and requires a sales engagement to determine.join.build
40%+Share of ENR Top 50 GCs using Joinjoin.build
1,000+Companies using Joinjoin.build
$10B+Decision impact trackedjoin.build

By the numbers

40%+of ENR Top 50 GCs
1,000+companies using Join
$10B+in tracked decision impact

Source: join.build

Before you use Join

  • Already using Procore or Autodesk
  • Need a dedicated mobile app
  • Have an estimating tool already

Upside

  • Used by 40% of top GCs
  • Real-time cost trending and visualization
  • Up and running within one week

Catch

  • No dedicated mobile app
  • Does not replace estimating software
  • Pricing requires a custom quote
Pick it ifGeneral contractors and owners managing the preconstruction and design phase.
Skip it ifField superintendents needing daily logs and safety management tools.
PricingCustom quote only, subscription-based with no maintenance fees.

Editor's takeJoin has reached over 40% of the ENR Top 50 General Contractors, a strong adoption signal for a preconstruction tool. Teams report becoming comfortable with the software within 30 to 45 minutes, and implementation can start within a week, even mid-project. It works alongside estimating software rather than replacing it, so budgets should account for both tools.

How long does it take to learn Join?

Most people become comfortable using Join within 30 to 45 minutes of training, according to the vendor. Teams can be fully implemented and running within a week, even on projects already underway.

Does Join replace estimating software like Sage or WinEst?

No. Join imports data from estimating tools like DESTINI Estimator, Sage, and Trimble WinEst rather than replacing them, so teams need both a dedicated estimating tool and Join.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.16 points)
8.7
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: We evaluate the platform's ability to manage preconstruction workflows, including cost trending, design collaboration, and decision tracking.Join specializes in collaborative preconstruction, offering robust tools for real-time cost trending, risk management, and scenario evaluation that bridge the gap between owners, architects, and contractors.join.buildjoin.buildjoin.build
9.2
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: We assess the product's adoption rate among industry leaders, customer testimonials, and market presence.Join has achieved significant market penetration, being used by over 40% of the ENR Top 50 General Contractors and major firms like McCarthy and DPR Construction.join.buildaecbytes.comjoin.build
8.9
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: We examine user feedback regarding ease of use, implementation speed, and interface design.Users report the platform is highly intuitive with a visual interface that simplifies complex cost data, allowing for rapid onboarding and implementation.join.buildjoin.buildjoin.build
8.5
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: We look for clear pricing structures, return on investment evidence, and transparency in sales models.While the platform offers significant ROI by preventing costly errors and improving efficiency, pricing is not publicly listed and requires a customized quote.join.buildjoin.buildmarketplace.procore.com
8.8
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: We evaluate the platform's ability to connect with existing construction technology stacks and data sources.Join integrates robustly with major industry standards like Procore and Autodesk, as well as estimating tools like DESTINI and WinEst, ensuring it fits into existing workflows.join.buildjoin.buildmarketplace.procore.com
9.0
Security, Compliance & Data ProtectionLooked for: We verify the presence of industry-standard security certifications and data protection measures.Join adheres to SOC 2 compliance standards and employs industry-standard encryption and access controls to protect sensitive project data.join.buildjoin.build

Score adjustments−0.16 points in total

−0.07The platform does not replace core estimating software (like Sage or WinEst) but requires them as a prerequisite for full functionality, potentially increasing total tech stack costs.join.build · severity 50/100
−0.06Lack of a dedicated mobile application for iOS or Android, limiting field access compared to comprehensive construction management suites.aecbytes.com · severity 45/100
−0.03Pricing is not transparently listed on the website, requiring a sales engagement to determine costs.join.build · severity 40/100
10

RedTeam

redteam.com · RedTeam Construction Management · scored Dec 2025

RedTeam publishes exact pricing, $729/month for $5M in projects

Best forMid-to-large general contractors wanting transparent, project-value-based software pricing.

From $165 per month transparent pricingbuilt by contractorsSage integration
−0.4 vs #1

Construction management platform built by contractors, pricing based on Active Project Value rather than seats.

Standout factRedTeam publishes exact pricing: $729/month covers up to $5 million in Active Project Value.redteam.com
Biggest catchUsers describe the interface as clunky, with some tasks taking more steps than expected.infotech.com
$729/mo (up to $5M APV)Standard plan priceredteam.com
200,000+Customers servedthesmbguide.com
$165/moRedTeam Go starting pricesoftwarefinder.com

Starting price

$729/moCovers up to $5M in Active Project Value

Learning curve

AfternoonWeeks

Clunky interface reported; tasks can take more steps than expected

Upside

  • Transparent Active Project Value pricing
  • Deep Sage and QuickBooks integrations
  • Built by contractors for contractors

Catch

  • Steep learning curve for new users
  • Interface can feel clunky
  • Mobile app lacks desktop parity
Pick it ifMid-to-large general contractors wanting transparent, project-value-based software pricing.
Skip it ifSmall residential builders or solo contractors who'd find enterprise features overkill.
PricingStandard plan $729/month for up to $5M Active Project Value; RedTeam Go from $165/month.

Editor's takeRedTeam publishes exact pricing tied to Active Project Value, a rare move in construction software, with the standard plan at $729 a month for up to $5 million in active work. It integrates deeply with Sage and QuickBooks and has served more than 200,000 customers since being founded by contractors. Users describe the interface as clunky, with a real learning curve, and the mobile app trails the desktop version for field tasks like plan searching.

How is RedTeam priced?

By Active Project Value, not seats. The standard plan is $729 a month for up to $5 million in APV, published directly on RedTeam's pricing page.

Is RedTeam's interface easy to learn?

Not immediately. Reviewers describe it as clunky, with navigation between modules sometimes taking more steps than expected.

The evidence: 6 criteria, 3 penalties (−0.16 points)
8.9
Product Capability & DepthLooked for: Comprehensive project lifecycle management features tailored for general contractors, from preconstruction to closeout.RedTeam offers an end-to-end suite including bid management, AIA-style billing, change order management, and OCR-enabled document control. It supports complex workflows like submittals, RFIs, and budget tracking, designed specifically for commercial construction needs.redteam.comredteam.comredteam.com
9.0
Market Credibility & Trust SignalsLooked for: Evidence of industry standing, user base size, and long-term reliability in the construction sector.RedTeam positions itself as 'built by contractors for contractors' and claims usage on thousands of projects with over 200,000 customers. It maintains verified partnerships with major ERP providers like Acumatica and Sage.thesmbguide.comredteam.com
8.3
Usability & Customer ExperienceLooked for: User interface intuitiveness, ease of adoption, and quality of customer support.While users appreciate the depth of features, many report a steep learning curve and a 'clunky' interface. Support is generally regarded as helpful, though some recent reviews note slower response times via chat.redteam.comredteam.cominfotech.com
9.2
Value, Pricing & TransparencyLooked for: Clear, public pricing models and competitive value for the features provided.RedTeam offers exceptional transparency with its 'Active Project Value' (APV) pricing model. The standard subscription is publicly listed at ~$729/month for up to $5M APV, avoiding the opaque 'call for quote' practices common in this sector.redteam.comredteam.comsoftwarefinder.com
8.9
Integrations & Ecosystem StrengthLooked for: Seamless connections with accounting, ERP, and other critical construction tools.The platform boasts strong, documented integrations with industry-standard accounting systems including QuickBooks (Online/Desktop), Sage (100/300/Intacct), and Acumatica, as well as DocuSign for contracts.redteam.comredteam.comacumatica.com
8.8
Field Management & Mobile CapabilitiesLooked for: Mobile tools for field teams to manage reports, photos, and plans offline.Field capabilities are robust, primarily delivered through the Fieldlens integration which supports offline access, daily reports, and photo markups. However, some users find the native mobile app experience to be less feature-rich than the desktop.redteam.comyoutube.com

Score adjustments−0.16 points in total

−0.06Users frequently report a steep learning curve and describe the interface as 'clunky' or outdated, requiring significant setup time.infotech.com · severity 60/100
−0.05Documented user reports of server sluggishness and occasional random logouts that disrupt workflow.youtube.com · severity 50/100
−0.05The mobile application is noted to lack some essential features found in the desktop version, with users requesting smoother functionality for field reports.softwarefinder.com · severity 45/100
02

Side by side

10 features across 10 products. Green is yes, red is no, grey is not published.

FeatureWorkfrontAutodesk Construction CloudTeamworkBluebeamRIBSTACKBasecampFieldwireJoinRedTeam
Has Mobile App
Has Free Plan
Has Free Trial Contact for trial Contact for trial Contact for trial
Integrates With Zapier
Has Public API Enterprise API only
Live Chat Support
SOC 2 or ISO Certified
Popular Integrations Adobe Creative Cloud, Slack, Microsoft Teams BIM 360, AutoCAD, Revit Slack, HubSpot, Microsoft Teams Microsoft 365, SharePoint, AutoCAD SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics PlanGrid, Procore, Bluebeam Slack, Google Workspace, Zapier Procore, Dropbox, Box Procore, Autodesk, Bluebeam QuickBooks, Sage, Microsoft Project
Supports SSO Enterprise plans only Enterprise plans only
Starting Price Contact for pricing Contact for pricing $11 per user/mo $240 per year Contact for pricing $2,999 per year Free tier $29 per month Contact for pricing $165 per month
03

How we chose

Four fixed criteria for every product, plus two chosen for Collaboration & Work Management Platforms for Contractors, weighted and reduced by documented penalties.

Full methodology
Criteria set for this categoryProduct Capability & Depth, Market Credibility & Trust Signals, Usability & Customer Experience, Value, Pricing & Transparency, Security, Compliance & Data Protection, Integrations & Ecosystem Strength
Evidence, then a scoreDocumentation, pricing pages, security pages and third-party reviews. Each criterion records what was found and links its sources.
Penalties, then a rankDocumented problems pull the score down with their evidence attached. Rank follows the score. Sponsored rows, where present, are labelled.
iVendors cannot buy a position. Every score rests on published evidence, documented problems pull it down, and a 9.1 here is not a 9.1 in another category.
Albert Richer
Albert RicherFounder · Memphis, TN

Sets the criteria and reviews the evidence before a ranking publishes. Email him if something here looks wrong.

04

Questions people ask

How much does Adobe Workfront cost?

Pricing is not publicly disclosed. Adobe offers three tiers, Select, Prime, and Ultimate, and buyers must contact sales for a custom quote, according to Adobe's own pricing page.

Does Workfront integrate with Adobe Creative Cloud?

Yes, natively. A Workfront plugin for Creative Cloud apps lets users log time, start review and approval workflows, and upload files directly from tools like Photoshop and InDesign.

Can Autodesk Construction Cloud be used on government projects?

Yes. It holds FedRAMP Moderate Authorization, along with ISO 27017 and 27018 cloud security and privacy certifications, making it suitable for federal and public sector work.

How is Autodesk Construction Cloud priced?

Pricing is tiered by sheet count: Build 550, Build 5000, and Build Unlimited. Sheet totals count every project a user has access to, not just active ones.

Does Teamwork charge for client users?

No. Paid plans include unlimited free client users who do not count toward the subscription seat count. They can be granted specific project permissions.

Does Teamwork have a free plan?

Yes. The Free Forever plan covers up to 5 users. Paid plans start around $10.99 per user a month, rising to $19.99 for the Grow tier.

Does Bluebeam still support Mac?

No. Native Mac support for Revu ended in June 2023, so Mac users now rely on limited web tools or virtualization software like Parallels, according to Bluebeam's end-of-life announcement.

How much does Bluebeam cost?

Published plans run from $240 a year (Basics) to $440 a year (Complete) per user, following a roughly 10% price increase in June 2024, according to SaaSworthy's pricing breakdown.

How is the best Collaboration & Work Management Platforms for Contractors decided?

Every product is scored on six criteria for this category, with cited evidence and documented penalties. Rank follows the overall score. Vendors cannot pay for a position.

How often is this ranking updated?

Products are re-scored when pricing, features or evidence change. This ranking was last updated July 12, 2026.

05

More in Collaboration & Work Management Platforms

3 related rankings.

All of Collaboration & Work Management
Research

Workers toggle between apps and windows more than 3,600 times per day for complex workflows

Jan 9, 2026

Project Management & Productivity Tools and Transcription & Meeting Notes Tools

May 27, 2026

Workers conduct up to 8 separate searches to find a single correct document

May 18, 2026